Spaces

This forum is for general and non-support discussion only. Sharing ideas? Networking? Looking for collaboration? This is the right place.
Post Reply
User avatar
matthew.Stanfield
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:10 am
Location: Mansfield, OHio
Contact:

Spaces

Post by matthew.Stanfield » Wed Jan 20, 2010 1:58 pm

I just upgraded from Tiger to Snow Leopard and am exploring the use of Spaces to organize my work. For instance, having one space set up for my Architecture software, one for internet stuff, one for graphics software, etc...

So far i am torn as to whether or not i want to continue with this set up. I really like the idea of it, but i find it somewhat annoying at times as well, especially if i open a program that is not specifically assigned to a particular space.

I know the decision is ultimately mine, but i would like to know if anyone here uses or has used the spaces feature and what opinions about it might be out there, especially with regard to using HD.

Thanks
matthew.Stanfield
Principal Architect
FiELD9: architecture
Mansfield, OHio
http://www.field9architecture.com

SurfingAlien
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 3:04 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Spaces

Post by SurfingAlien » Wed Jan 20, 2010 2:58 pm

hey Matthew,
as you said it's more a personal decision but since you've asked... I use Spaces all the time (HD is set on desktop 5 out of 6). side note: to switch among spaces i use to click on the dock icons but some apps don't work as expected (open their window menu in the current space instead of leading me to the correct space where the window is already opened)

cheers,
Alessandro

User avatar
matthew.Stanfield
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:10 am
Location: Mansfield, OHio
Contact:

Re: Spaces

Post by matthew.Stanfield » Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:04 pm

I have run into this same problem with windows opening in the "wrong" space". So what is your preferred method of switching between spaces? I have not fully explored all the options, but there seems to be keyboard shortcuts as well as the menu bar icon. Is there another way?

Also, when i open a program that is not assigned to a space, it opens in the current space. Is there a way to assign a default space for all unassigned programs?
matthew.Stanfield
Principal Architect
FiELD9: architecture
Mansfield, OHio
http://www.field9architecture.com

SurfingAlien
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 3:04 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Spaces

Post by SurfingAlien » Sat Jan 23, 2010 10:10 am

I use CTRL+[arrows] and the menu bar icon too, or you can assign keyboard or mouse shortcuts... (I didn't)

User avatar
matthew.Stanfield
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:10 am
Location: Mansfield, OHio
Contact:

Re: Spaces

Post by matthew.Stanfield » Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:57 pm

I recently discovered Hyperspaces which i had received as part of the last MacHeist. It had been sitting in a folder with other apps i was unable to use until i upgraded from Tiger. Anyway, i have found that it greatly simplifies the the transition to using spaces for me, as i can name the spaces as well as apply other customizations like displaying the space name on my desktop. This greatly helps me keep oriented as to where i am.

As i continue to work with spaces, i like them more and more. I still have some experimenting to do as far how i want to organize my spaces, but overall i think i am going to stick with them.

Thanks for the input, Alessandro.
matthew.Stanfield
Principal Architect
FiELD9: architecture
Mansfield, OHio
http://www.field9architecture.com

Post Reply