Importing dwg in HD2015

General HighDesign Discussions
Post Reply
axys
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 1:48 pm
Location: Welsh Marches, UK
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Importing dwg in HD2015

Post by axys » Mon Feb 16, 2015 12:43 pm

Having some issues with dwg files - two different files, both open as a blank sheet at 0%, leaving units at 1:1 on import. A different larger file just won't open at all - just get a beep and nothing. Rather frustrating! A fourth file from another source opens fine, but then how do I scale it to print without it just being a huge blob of oversized text? So frustrating!!

What to tell third parties as the best way to issue dwg's would be useful.
OS X El Capitan 10.11.6 - iMac Retina 5k, 27 inch, late 2015

User avatar
Andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 487
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 2:16 pm
Location: Ilexsoft HQ
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Importing dwg in HD2015

Post by Andrew » Mon Feb 16, 2015 1:38 pm

See if the articles on this page can be of help. For the file that "beeps", try making a copy, rename it "1.dwg" and open that. If this does not work, email it to us so we can look into it.

axys
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 1:48 pm
Location: Welsh Marches, UK
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Importing dwg in HD2015

Post by axys » Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:18 pm

I've sent you a couple of files - renaming didn't stop the beep. I read the articles but I'd covered all the points they raise.
OS X El Capitan 10.11.6 - iMac Retina 5k, 27 inch, late 2015

User avatar
Andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 487
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 2:16 pm
Location: Ilexsoft HQ
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Importing dwg in HD2015

Post by Andrew » Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:21 pm

axys wrote:I've sent you a couple of files - renaming didn't stop the beep. I read the articles but I'd covered all the points they raise.
We are investigating the causes. For the file that does not open, the error depends on the external libraries used to convert the DWG file format.
The other file is actually imported, but some nested blocks cause the view to stay at 0%.
We working to address both situations.

User avatar
alexwhite
Posts: 257
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 4:45 pm
Location: Indianapolis USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Importing dwg in HD2015

Post by alexwhite » Sun Apr 12, 2015 2:21 am

I don't know if its related to Axys or not - here's an error I received on trying to import a dwg
Screen Shot 2015-04-11 at 10.19.04 PM.png
fat guy in a little coat

User avatar
Andrew
Site Admin
Posts: 487
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 2:16 pm
Location: Ilexsoft HQ
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: Importing dwg in HD2015

Post by Andrew » Fri Oct 02, 2015 9:41 am

The 2015.2.1 update greatly improves DWG compatibility. I would suggest you to install this new version and test your files.
Since DWG is a proprietary format and is not public, and it is used by many different AutoCAD versions and a large number of CAD apps, the situations and drawings can differ a lot. If you have a file that does not open in HighDesign 2015.2.1, please send it to us so we can use it to improve DWG support.

To download HighDesign 2015.2.1: http://www.ilexsoft.com/downloads/index.html

Post Reply