Precision Woes

General HighDesign Discussions
mtgstuber

Precision Woes

Post by mtgstuber »

I'm new to high design, so if I'm doing something wrong, please let me know.

I have my grid set to 1/4". I also have my precision set to 1/4". I go to draw a framing member (rectangle) that butts up against another framing member. Regardless of whether I snap to other objects, or snap to grid, I end up with objects that are just "a little bit off."

That is, I can tell they aren't quite the right length by the way HighDesign renders them. When I dimension them, they are a 1/64 or a 1/32 off in one dimension. When I click on the object properties, they claim to be the correct dimensions, but if I multiply them, the fraction of an inch difference adds up and quickly becomes a major error.

If I edit the object properties, and change my 1-1/2" width, to 1-1/2" inches (I know it sounds silly, but work with me), it actually makes it 1-1/2", where before it was not. I can verify this by measuring, or creating a dimension, as well as visually, and by seeing the effects when multiplying.

In my mind, if I've set the drawing precision to 1/4", I shouldn't be able to draw anything other than values that land on 1/4" increments. For example, this is the behavior I get out of SketchUp. If setting precision to 1/4" just means that the dialog boxes misrepresent things, it doesn't seem terribly useful.

This all having been said, maybe there is some simple subtle thing I've not set right, or that I'm doing wrong. Please Note: I know that I can always type in lengths, or X and Y for putting things in. I do use that feature. For somethings though, I'd prefer not to do the math -- that's what the computer is there for.

Is anybody else having issues with precision? Is it just me?

mtgstuber

Re: Precision Woes

Post by mtgstuber »

Wow. I really, really frustrated at this point.